a slow demise

This week has been a slow demise. Slow and painful.

A week ago, somehow, someway, I caught a bug that has tormented me and plotted my destruction. Perhaps it was a perfect storm: lack of sleep, staying up late, and just too much old fashion exercise for a fragile body (still figuring out when I became so fragile). And here I am on the mend (knock on wood) but not after a few licks.

Sunday I was in bed all day with a fever. Monday morning come work time, still had the fever but what the heck, why not head into work? Tuesday still under the weather, Wednesday was a passable day that was spent uncomfortably in the office for the most part that probably should have been spent recuperating in bed at home. Thursday I somehow managed to get through six lessons and a few meetings. Yesterday, Friday saw me into work. I thought I’d celebrate my good feelings of survival with a fast food breakfast. By 8:30am I was feeling dizzy, started class at 9:15am and was really about to topple. I excused myself, asked permission to take the day off and prepared to do so. At 9:30am I was taking a moment just to collect myself before heading home. On my way down the stairs I made it just in time to the men’s restroom to unload my dizziness in two violent and self-contained abdominal upheavals. That cured the dizziness just long enough to take the subway home and crawl into bed. I’ve been sleeping since…

The week before my troubles was filled with full lessons, no preps, staffing stress and oral examinations. Next week is similar, so that ought to be a blast. It’s all about pacing and doing what needs to be done. It’s not for the faint of heart. I’m hoping that I’m at least up to 80% come Monday otherwise I might not make it. This past week was fairly uneventful and I was running on fumes, perhaps an average of 35%. Yeah I can gauge this pretty well as normally I can do flights and flights of stairs without breaking stride. Last week I couldn’t get up two flights without feeling like keeling over.

At some point I wanted to start writing again, and documenting my demise might be a good time to start. Most likely Hopefully it will take a lot longer than a week or two. It would be a terrible pity to start such a good habit so late in life 😉

Now off to catch some afternoon …zzzZZZs and charge up the proverbial battery for next week’s festivities.

Leave a Reply

