on politics of the hour

It’s been a while since my last post. Often there is a desire to write but no motivation to do so. Today, at 12:42am I have just enough motivation and time and energy to spend on a few thoughts.

It comes to mind that I often miss ‘important’ events- I’m not in country when seemingly eventful occasions happen, when the dynamic of the environment changes, when history is in the making. I read the news, digest and interpret the situation but never experience what those in the midst at the time experience.

I scroll through social media, reading what friends and family posts. I share similar feelings with some and others, I hold polar opposite views. I am very much stirred to question them, not out of bitterness but out of a genuine desire to understand their viewpoint.

But I don’t. I’m not sure I can handle the strain or whether they can handle the strain. Perhaps I am selling them short, selling myself short or selling our relationships short…

Instead my strategy with things of this nature will be to not offer my opinion unless explicitly asked. This never happens, so it’s safe to say that this is one way to avoid the interaction. But also leaves me still in the dark.

Leave a Reply

