do the hokey pokey and turn yourself around, that’s what it’s all about

What’s new? As of late I’ve been up to a lot. or so it seems. my cold is much like the economy these days… in a recession…
grandma’s 80th was the other day. i connected up over the net with a video conference call (well one way at least). I can only assume that the party was rocking. I’m sure it was a lot of fun. I also had a video conference with my buddy in S.D. It was nice to catch up with him, especially before he heads off to the N. to the Z. 
Yay for technology, go Google!
The dance we prepared in under two weeks went off pretty well. Though we all made some minor mistakes, it wasn’t bad considering… ‘Twas fun practicing only a handful of times before performing before a crowd of several thousand students… twice. Granted we didn’t invent the dance ourselves, but we did perfect one part. You’ll see… the hand part- A shout out and a thanks to the man behind the scenes, our dance coordinator and alternate, Kevin. Check out the original routine first, performed by the Tianjin Postal Service:
and then give ours a whirl:
I think the students enjoyed it. I enjoyed most of what I could understand of theirs. My students did a skit, the Merchant of Venice (in Chinese of course). Back stage, they looked at me questioningly and asked about their costumes- not convinced that lawyers looked the way they were dressed up. 
It was a bit more difficult to recognize students without their glasses and with all their make-up.
Here we were backstage:

(I think our fans say ‘Kung Fu fans’)
Yeah… it was a long weekend.
Ah… I can’t wait for the Christmas activities…
5 comments

Leave a Reply

