It’s a wonderful life, with a twist

As captive as this title may seem, this blurb is only a movie review. Last night (or early this morning) I viewed “The Family Man” starring Nicholas Cage and Téa Leoni. I’ve seen this film before and while it’s nothing groundbreaking, it does have a little uniqueness in a plot derived seemingly from a classic “It’s a Wonderful Life” or the “Christmas Story”.

It’s almost Disney in quality, so I can’t acclaim it too much. It’s a great wholesome, family movie if there is such an audience left to receive it. While not straying far from the this-is-how-your-life-could-have-been theme, it’s unique in that it shows the main character as a New York Arbiter for a financial powerhouse, president of the company, success to society to begin with- and gives him a chance to see what his life could have been like as a ‘normal’ married man living in New Jersey, as a family man with a wife and two kids.

I chuckled here and there, mostly trying to put myself in the man’s shoes, waking up one morning with a family, completely in an alien environment learning how to the quotidian. Nicholas Cage, well… despite my personal fascination with his career which oddly started in college, despite the fact that I’ve seen nearly all films starring him I must admit that I have no idea whether or not he is a good actor. Many people probably think he isn’t the most dynamic in his roles. Sometimes I feel that way as well. But usually he’s pretty entertaining to watch. As an added bonus, Téa Leoni, an enjoyable favorite of mine, and quite arguably a great actor in an insignificant role still played well, Don Cheadle.

And that sums up that…

Disclaimer: While this post is unwittingly bland, boring and brass it served me to recommence my blogging experience after some working-vacation-emergence back into my native land. Three cheers for third rate movies! Hip hip hooray! Hip hip hooray! Hip hip hooray!

Whew… how exhausting…

One comment

Leave a Reply

